Sorry that I didn’t get the query post up this week! With Camp NaNoWriMo in full swing, I underestimated how much time I would have to write. I do intend to still post all this month, but the Query Tuesdays will have to be moved to Mondays, the only day of the week I’ll probably have time to work on them. Just two left in the series!

But onward to today’s Twin Thursday with Rachel from Undivinelight. Today, we’re laying out five writing goals for the rest of the year. In general, I think it’s more of a new year’s kind of post? But it’s never too late to start!

  1. Establish a daily writing habit. Yeeeeah, this is something that I harp on my critique partner, my writing kiddo, and just about everyone else for: making your writing a priority in your life. If you’re serious about it, carve out a little time every day to see it done. And yet it’s something I very rarely manage to do, myself. My hope is to fix that.
  2. Complete at least two trashdrafts. Along the same lines as making time to write every day, this is a more exact project-related goal. I currently have two stories in various states of completion and another that’s simmering on the back burner and waiting for its turn. Ideally, I’ll have a first draft (called trashdraft in my writing circle) done within the next eight months. With writing every day, I think that’s definitely a possibility.
  3. Better representation in my stories. I spend a lot of time worrying about if I’m doing myself, my stories, and other communities a disservice by trying to be more inclusive with my fiction. As a white woman, what do I know about the struggles a Black person faces? Since I’m cisgendered, how can I possibly relate to what a non-binary or trans person goes through? How dare I try to tell those stories!
    But then I remember the first time I, as a lesbian, read about a girl attracted to another girl and how normally it was treated, how important it was for me to see that in my fiction. And giving that feeling to someone else, I feel, is many times more important than my comfort level.
  4. More immersive worlds. I feel like I struggle a bit with full-sensory immersion in my settings. I’ll get a clear idea of how something looks or sounds but not necessarily the other senses. What does the fabric feel like? What does the food taste like? What does the perfume smell like? I’ve got a few exercises that I’ll probably be sharing here later, and we’ll see how this one goes.
  5. Continue querying with my completed vampire history novel. I’ve got just a few avenues left to pursue with it, but I want to get those squared away by the end of the year. If it comes down that it’s not the right time for me to sell this story, then I’m at peace with trunking it for a bit. But I want to be sure before I do that I’ve left no stone unturned!
Leave a Reply

