Blessed be, everyone! NaNoWriMo ended yesterday, so how’d we fare on our goals? Weeeeellll, not so well. I believe in being honest, though, so holding myself accountable for it.

The one thing I did manage was to write each and every day, no matter how much or how little. What got me into trouble was that last bit–how little. As the month drew on and the stresses piled up, it became easier and easier for me to just… not finish at least one scene every day.

I didn’t successfully complete my current project, and obviously I didn’t then manage to get any edits done on it. Which is frustrating, yes, but I can at least see where I failed to accomplish this. The project itself ended up being longer than I had thought it would be, with the last third or so of it being the longest part. Combined with mounting pressures and a shiny new time-waster (coughPokemonMooncough), this was enough to make me fall way behind my threshold.

I do like the idea of continuing with goals as we go forward, so for the coming month:

  1.  Finish my current project. This should be a pretty easy one, given just how close I actually am to the end. But I’ve been wrong before. My tentative timeline is to have it ready to roll by this coming Tuesday the sixth. Wish me luck!
  2. Do a quick edit and send the current project to betas/CP. Same timeline as the above. I will give myself permission to skip this one if I have to; it’s not like it would be the first time my readers have seen my unadulterated trashdraft. But I would very much prefer to have it closer to complete before I hand it over.
  3. Begin self-critique for my previous project. I’ve wanted to get back to this story for months, but I told myself I wasn’t allowed to touch it until my current bookbaby is born.
Leave a Reply

