Blessed be! It’s still a few days before the end of the month, but it felt like a good night to look back on the month of December and the rest of 2016. Truthfully, as hard as I tend to be on myself, I got a lot accomplished!

I usually only manage one trashdraft a year, if that. It’s more typical for me to get a partial draft or to do nothing but editing. In 2016, I finished two. Granted, both of them already had about thirty thousand words each from a previous attempt, but that still means I wrote between seventy and one hundred thousand brand-spanking-new words this year. That’s a personal record!

Speaking of records, early this month I polished off the first draft of my longest trashdraft to date. The sequel to my vampire history rang in at a whopping 106,000 words. I’m going to have to pare it down later, but we’ll discuss that more below!

I also got a good start on making notes for myself on Kheras. I still have a lot to go, though, and that brings me to my goals for January and for the rest of 2017. I’ll still be adding more monthly goals, as well.

For January:

  1. Finish the notes for Kheras. It’s not a long novel by any stretch, not even just as far as trashdrafts are concerned. I want to be finished with my self-crit by the end of the month so it has time to cool before I go into edits on it.
  2. Touch base with my betas. With Regal Virtues, said vampire history sequel, finished and waiting in e-mail inboxes, it’s only a matter of time before I start going stir-crazy and asking for feedback. The trick is managing to do that while also respecting that said betas are human and have responsibilities and lives outside of my manuscript. Not going to lie, though, it’s a tough line to toe!
  3. Finish Transformation by Carol Berg. My CP and I decided recently that I needed to expand my reading, and this is one of the books she set for me. More on this project later!

For 2017:

  1. Do at least one round of edits on both Regal and Kheras. I’m planning, specifically, to do Kheras for the spring round of Camp NaNo and Regal for summer. We’ll see how that shakes out, though; I like to stay fluid in these sort of commitments.
  2. Write the trashdraft of my witchschool story. So, when I first started this blog, I made up a project for my query letter series. Just a hypothetical thing so I could demonstrate the pitch portion of the query on something I wasn’t attached to or actively seeking representation for. And I fell in love with the idea–whoops! So now I want to write it.
  3. Expand my reading list. I touched briefly on this above. I’m going to be making a concentrated effort in the coming year to read not just YA SF/F. Not that there’s anything inherently wrong with liking YA lit, mind. But it’s important for a writer to always be feeding their imagination. It’s good to mix it up every now and then!
Leave a Reply

