Blessed be! Time for something completely new: my first review for the blog! If I’d thought of it, I would have posted one of these for each of the Rai-Kirah books as I read them but, well. Live and learn!

The first book of the series, Transformation, was definitely my favorite of the three. I was introduced to our narrator Seyonne, the world he inhabits, and–most importantly–Prince Aleksander of the Derzhi empire. The story was a bit of a slow sell for me, though, because the story is about Aleksander and Seyonne and how the two men influence each other through the years. The problem was, I loathed Aleksander at the beginning of the story.

Now, that’s a feature, not a bug. I was supposed to hate him, to find him arrogant, vindictive, and even cruel at times. Half of the story is watching Aleksander grow as a person through the things he’s been forced into. The other part, of course, is seeing Seyonne’s devotion to him grow from a grudging duty to a bond deeper than blood. By the time I got to the end of the story, I was sold on reading the rest of the books just so I could see how these two men would continue to help one another grow.

Which, perhaps, is why Revelation was such a difficult book for me to read. I started the series with the promise that the books were about Seyonne and Aleksander’s intertwined destinies. Unfortunately, Aleksander is hardly in the second book at all. I think, out of a four-hundred-some-page book, Aleksander is only present for roughly fifty pages and thought of for much less. Instead, Seyonne’s driving motivation becomes his son, which didn’t have the same deep-seated urgency for me as his Warden’s oath to protect Aleksander or the history the two of them already shared.

To add to that, the middle hundred pages or so was a painfully slow slog for me. Where the first book ran pretty lightly from one plot point to another, the second didn’t have the same drive. Seyonne spent a long time just waiting for the next piece to be given to him. On the one hand, the structure of the story and the things that he was learning demanded it at times. On the other, I felt that the middle third of the book could easily have been condensed into about half the length without losing anything.

The saving point for Revelation, though, is definitely the last third of the book. Here’s where Berg shines. She builds these tensions and then lets them all come crashing down in the home stretch. The way the disparate threads come together is heartbreakingly beautiful.

Which, of course, brings me to Restoration. This book, while not as strong as the first, came very closely on its heels. This was everything I wanted from Revelation and then some–just enough down moments for Seyonne to learn whatever he needed to advance the plot, but everything tying back into his shared destiny with Aleksander. By the time of the final confrontation, I was holding my breath and praying for a miracle, for the terrible things I’d been dreading for a hundred pages or more to please please please not happen.

My main problem, then–and really, the only thing that stopped Restoration from being as good or better than Transformation–is Seyonne’s love interest. It didn’t fit. I was left without enough time to become invested in the relationship or even to believe that these two would develop feelings for each other at all, let alone so quickly.

To clarify, this isn’t just be being sour grapes that he and Aleksander never have any sexual or romantic notes on screen. I don’t need them to gallop off into the big gay sunset (as happy as that would no doubt have made me) because their relationship is deeper than that. That said, if he had to end the story in a happily-ever-after heterosexual pairing, there were at the least two other named female characters that he had more screen time and better chemistry with than the one he got.

One thought on “Review: The Rai-Kirah Trilogy by Carol Berg

Leave a Reply

