Blessed be, all! Sorry that this is a little late going up. Life decided to take a sharp right turn again this week and left me scrambling. I’m not letting that shake me, though, so here are some more literature thoughts I’ve been chewing on.

I read The Broken Kingdoms back in April and, yes, I’m just getting around to the review. I needed some time to digest it and really appreciate what I just read. This book, guys. This book hit me in the feels in all the right ways. And I had to take some time to sort all of that out.

I don’t want to spoil anything because I feel like this book is best gone into blind. It takes place several years after the events of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and picks up with a new cast of characters. I love every single one of them. I love the protagonist. I love the supporting cast. The villain is utterly, uniquely terrifying. But they’re so completely themselves, the plot unfolding as a direct cause-to-effect of their own flawed personalities.

And the plot! I don’t say this often. There is literally nothing about the way this story falls out that I would change. Just enough twists to keep me interested; just enough familiarity to make me comfortable. Then the story reached into my chest and played with my heart like a marionette. I cheered, laughed, cried, sometimes within just the span of a page. Jemisin is not one to tread lightly on my emotions, but it’s all done masterfully. She plays with my expectations of what a fantasy story is supposed to be, how it would have gone in the hands of a different author. And she uses it to brutal, beautiful effect.

 

Leave a Reply

